Vancuren out as Owasso basketball coach

Mark Vancuren is out as Owasso boys basketball coach. Vancuren confirmed his decision to step down at Owasso on Tuesday afternoon.

“Coaching at Owasso has been an awesome experience for my family & I,” said Vancuren, who was 113-45 while coaching the Owasso boys. “I love it here. There is no better place to teach, or coach, in Oklahoma than Owasso.

“There just comes a time when you know the circumstances are right for you to make a change. Owasso will always have a very special place in my heart. I learned to play basketball here. I had the greatest coaches here in Dub Raper, Larry Turner, Steve Holleman and Jim Kight.”

Vancuren, who took over the Owasso girls program prior to the 2004-2005 season, recently wrapped up his sixth season as the boys head coach. The Rams went 15-11 and were eliminated from postseason play during the area tournament during the 2016-2017 season.

“We appreciate coach Vancuren for his dedication, commitment and all that he has done for the basketball program, the student athletes and Owasso Public Schools,” Owasso athletic director Zach Duffield said. “We wish him nothing but the best. A search for a new head basketball coach to lead the program will begin immediately.”

“I will always be grateful for the opportunity I was given to lead Ram teams,” Vancuren said. “My players, girls and boys, always gave me their very best efforts in every competition. We’ve been successful and I will never forget the memories I’ve been afforded by the athletes I’ve coached here. Owasso parents raise their kids right and they’re awesome kids.

“If the Lord is willing, I look forward to coaching somewhere next year. If not, I will remain as a teacher at Owasso High School and be happy as ever. It was a lot of fun, but it’s time for a new challenge. I look forward to it.”

Leave a Reply

