Brandon Tyler takes over at Gore

Brandon Tyler is returning to Oklahoma, and he’s landing in a spot he’s very familiar with: his alma mater. Tyler will be the head coach of the Gore Pirates when the 2017 season commences.

“It’s where I went to school and played,” said Tyler, most recently an assistant at Van Buren (Ark.). “My uncle, Richard Moseley, was the head coach there for 25 years, but I will be the eighth head coach since he retired in 2005.”

Tyler takes over the vacancy left by Scott Sapulpa. Gore went 3-7 in 2016, and the Pirates have gone 5-35 since making a playoff appearance during the 2012 season.

“It will definitely be a challenge, but I am looking forward to it,” Tyler said. “I think we have great kids what are ready to get going and be competitive next season.”

Before joining Greg Warner’s staff at Van Buren, Tyler was the head coach of Vian, a perennial small-small state contender. While in Vian, Tyler went 128-25 in 12 years.

“It feels great to get back into Oklahoma,” Tyler said. “It’s where I have coached for 20 years, and there are lots of coaching buddies that I will get to see again.

“My time in Arkansas was great. It was a great experience to be able to coach at the 7A level. I got to see Division I talent just about every Friday night. Working for Coach Werner was a great experience, and he is a great coach but even a better man and person. I have nothing but the utmost respect for him and Van Buren High school for giving me the opportunity.”

Now Tyler’s focus shifts to Gore, a program that hasn’t won a playoff game since 2011. The Pirates will also be after their first district title since 2011.

“Getting to go back and give to the school and community where I grew up in is an awesome feeling,” Tyler said. “Our expectations are always going to be high while trying to win a district championship. Making the playoffs will always be our goal year in and year out, and hopefully we can compete with the top teams in class A.”

Leave a Reply

